Ysgol Glan-y-Mor

Ysgol Bryngwyn School Ysgol Bryngwyn School

Congratulations to Mrs Sue Quirk WINNER OF THE Joan SjOvoll STEM Leadership Award

The winners of the STEM Inspiration Awards 2016 were announced on Thursday 24th November at a prestigious event at the House of Lords. Congratulations to Mrs Sue Quirk who was presented with the 2016 Joan Sjøvoll STEM Leadership Award. This award recognises the vision and dedication of a school or college leader who has been influential in driving forward the STEM agenda in their school, resulting in better outcomes for young people. 

The STEM Inspiration Awards recognise the work done by a wide range of people and organisations, to enrich the experience of young people in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) subjects, and to promote the STEM agenda. The event, sponsored by the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC), was attended by Ministers, educators and key leaders from industry.

Yvonne Baker, Chief Executive of STEM Learning, said:
“We believe all young people, across the UK, should receive a world-leading STEM education. Many thousands of people and organisations across the UK – from inspiring teachers and STEM Ambassadors, to innovative businesses and school leaders – are working with us to achieve this vision. We’re delighted to be able to recognise some of those who are helping young people aim for a bright and exciting future in STEM.”

Awards were presented in six categories to winners from across the UK, with the Science and Technology Facilities Council providing winners with an exclusive visit to CERN. Winners will fly to Geneva in January, where they will have the opportunity to see cutting edge science in action, as well as meet with top physicists and engineers from across the facility.

For a full list of both winner and nominees, please visit: www.stem.org.uk/stem-inspiration-winners-2016